Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Now!
Virtual Meeting - Speakers
Share |

Virtual Meeting Home 


2020 Virtual Meeting Speakers

Angela Dixon, Save CENLA

Angela Dixon is a co-founder of Save CENLA, a non profit organization formed in 2016 to promote health awareness and suicide prevention. After losing her son to suicide, Dixon created this organization as an affiliate of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention and as its first awareness event, held a “Walk into the Light” 5k which attracted over 800 participants in Avoyelles Parish. She is trained in suicide awareness, prevention intervention and holds Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST) workshops in the Central Louisiana area throughout the year. Through these workshops, Dixon is able to teach participants to recognize when someone may have thoughts of suicide and work with them to create a plan that will support their immediate safety.


Senator Fred Mills, RPh, Louisiana Senate


Senator Fred Mills, Jr. began service as a director of Farmers-Merchants Bank in 2001. He is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Farmers-Merchants Bank. He has an outstanding tenure in private business, banking, finance, state government, civic leadership roles, and on parish governmental boards. He is the owner of Mills Cashway Pharmacy in Parks, LA. He serves as the St. Martin and Iberia Parishes District 22 State Senator and as a multi-term District 6 St. Martin Parish Government Council member.

Senator Mills is on the St. Martin Hospital Board of Directors, and is a member of the St. Martin Parish Economic Development Authority. He is a member of the Acadian Ambulance & Air Med Board of Directors. His many contributions to the Parish include a Board of Directors seat for Hospice of Acadiana, and his continuous work as a member of the Parks Jaycees; Knights of Columbus; St. Joseph Church Council; and Breaux Bridge Chamber of Commerce. He is a 1976 graduate of the University of Louisiana at Monroe’s College of Pharmacy who honored him with the 2007 Alumnus of the Year Award and the 2012 Meritorious Award. In addition he served as President-Elect for the Louisiana Pharmacists Association, as a Board Member on the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy and has served on the Governor’s Health Care Reform Panel. He is well known for his talents as a renowned public speaker, master of ceremonies, and humorist. He is a previous recipient of the prestigious Bowl of Hygeia and LPA Pharmacist of the Year Awards.


LaKeisha Williams, PharmD, MSPH, Xavier University College of Pharmacy


Dr. LaKeisha Williams is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Clinical and Administrative Sciences at Xavier University College of Pharmacy. She received her Master of Science in Public Health from Tulane University and a Doctor of Pharmacy from Xavier University of Louisiana. Following her graduate studies, she completed an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists accredited Pharmacy Practice residency.

Dr. Williams is passionate about optimizing patient care through effective therapeutic management. Her professional and research interests include medication safety, health disparities and public health, cardiovascular disease and medication adherence, interprofessional education and mentorship within the profession. She currently serves as a preceptor for third and fourth year pharmacy students in an ambulatory care setting, incorporating drug information and chronic disease state management. She previously served as a Drug Information Specialist at the Xavier University Drug Information Center Satellite, and she currently maintains a practice site at the Interim LSU Hospital Ambulatory Care Clinics, focusing on diabetes, hypertension and weight management.



Copyright © 2010 Louisiana Pharmacists Association. All Rights Reserved.
620 Florida St., Suite 210 | Baton Rouge, LA 70801 | (225) 346-6883 | Fax (225) 344-1132

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal